The Only Compliment

When I was in grade school, I would accompany my father to the mountains. He was kind of like your mom – very active and constantly changing. Every morning he had to go out and work a few hours.  Every three months he had to rearrange his entire room.

When we went to the mountains we would collect tree branches for firewood. One time on our way back, I was exhausted from carrying the branches and he asked me how I was doing. I said, I’m very tired but I’m thinking about a hero character in this movie. The hero said, mind over matter. And when I think about that I can go on.

He was really pleased with that: “Very good.” And that’s all he said.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

